Wrist& Sole
Two departments: what goes on the wrist, what goes on the feet
Running shoesBy the Wrist & Sole editorsLast checked October 17, 2026
ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28 logo

ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28

The most documented midsole in this group: FF BLAST PLUS and PureGEL, 8 mm drop, 281 g, one-year defect warranty

4.1/ 5 overall
Scored on the published rubric, from documentation, pricing and verified user reports.
From $170 list
Best for: Runners who want maximum cushioning with the foams named on the spec sheet, a knit upper, and a published one-year defect warranty, and who are happy with a standard width.
3.8ease
4.5features
3.7value
4.4support

Verdict

The ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28 is the most transparent spec sheet of the four daily trainers we read, and the most expensive. This is a documentation review: we read the asics.com product page, the returns policy and the warranty page on October 16, 2026, and we did not run in the shoe. ASICS publishes an 8 mm heel drop, a weight of 281 g (9.9 oz), a Neutral support rating and a Maximum cushion rating, and it names both midsole components: FF BLAST PLUS cushioning and PureGEL technology. It also states the shoe is approximately 20 g lighter than the previous version. The upper is an engineered knit. The listing we loaded offers Standard width only, in US men's 6 to 16, which is the narrowest fit range in this cluster. Returns run 90 calendar days for unworn shoes, with a $4.99 shipping deduction for non-members, and ASICS backs footwear with a one-year manufacturing-defect warranty. Owners rate it 4.4 out of 5 from 377 reviews.

Visit ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28
We have no affiliate relationship with this vendor. Link goes to the official site.

Where it is strong

  • Foams named on the page: FF BLAST PLUS cushioning plus PureGEL, with a stated 20 g weight cut versus the previous version
  • One-year manufacturing-defect warranty on footwear, published in ASICS' Limited Warranty terms
  • 90 calendar day return window, free in any US ASICS store, free by mail for OneASICS members
  • Engineered knit upper, the only knit in this group; ASICS rates cushion Maximum and support Neutral
  • 4.4 out of 5 from 377 owner reviews on asics.com as of October 16, 2026

Where it falls short

  • Highest list price here at $170, $20 above the Brooks Ghost 18
  • The listing we loaded is Standard width only; wide versions were not shown on the GEL-NIMBUS page we read
  • Returned shoes must be unworn, so the 90 days is a try-on window, not a run-in window like Brooks' or HOKA's
  • Stack height is not published on the product page

At a glance

List price$170 USD (asics.com, Oct 16, 2026)
Pricing note$170 list on asics.com for the men's GEL-NIMBUS 28 in Standard width (product page, checked October 16, 2026); OneASICS members get free returns, non-members pay $4.99
Weight281 g / 9.9 oz (published, reference size not stated)
Heel drop8 mm
Stack heightNot published on product page
MidsoleFF BLAST PLUS cushioning + PureGEL technology
UpperEngineered knit
Support / cushionNeutral / Maximum (ASICS ratings)
WidthsStandard on the listing we read
SizesUS men's 6 to 16 (half sizes to 13.5)
Returns90 calendar days, unworn; $4.99 fee for non-members by mail
Warranty1 year, manufacturing defects, footwear

What the ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28 actually is

The GEL-NIMBUS is ASICS' maximum-cushion neutral trainer, and ASICS calls it one of the most comfortable styles in its running range. The 28 is the version sold on asics.com as of October 16, 2026, at $170.

ASICS tags it with a Goal of Further, a Cushion rating of Maximum and a Support rating of Neutral. Those are category labels from ASICS' own system, and they place the shoe at the softer, longer-distance end of the daily trainer spectrum.

The spec block gives an 8 mm heel drop and a weight of 281 g (9.9 oz). The description names the midsole as a combination of FF BLAST PLUS cushioning and PureGEL technology, and states the shoe is approximately 20 g lighter than the previous version.

The upper is an engineered knit that ASICS says softly wraps the foot. That makes the Nimbus the only knit-upper shoe among the four we read; the Brooks Ghost 18 and Hoka Clifton 11 both use mesh.

This is a documentation review. We read the product, returns and warranty pages and 377 owner ratings. We did not run in the shoe, and our editorial policy explains why we never claim to.

Who the GEL-NIMBUS 28 is best for

Read against the other trainers in our running shoe section, the Nimbus 28 suits:

ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28: where it is strong, from documentation and verified user reports.
ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28: where it is strong, from documentation and verified user reports.

How the pricing works

The GEL-NIMBUS 28 is $170 in the colorway and width we loaded. That is the highest list price among the four daily trainers we compared: the Brooks Ghost 18 is $150, the Hoka Clifton 11 is $155 and the New Balance 1080v15 is $169.99.

OneASICS membership is free and affects the total cost in two ways. Standard shipping is free on orders over $50, and mail returns are free. Non-members have $4.99 deducted from a mail-return refund. In-store returns are free for everyone.

ASICS also lists a Refer a Friend credit and a Moves rewards balance on the product page. Neither changes the $170 list price, and we do not count loyalty points as a discount.

The page notes free standard shipping on orders over $50, so the shoe ships free to members and non-members alike at this price.

ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28: where it falls short, from documentation and verified user reports.
ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28: where it falls short, from documentation and verified user reports.

Ease: one width, a long size run, and try-on-only returns

Ease scores 3.8, the lowest of the four shoes, for two reasons on the spec sheet.

First, width. The listing we read offers Standard only. ASICS has sold wide Nimbus versions as separate product codes in the past, and the collection page shows a GEL-KAYANO 33 WIDE, but no wide GEL-NIMBUS 28 appeared on the GEL-NIMBUS page we loaded on October 16, 2026. We are stating what we saw, not what the catalog may contain elsewhere.

Second, returns. ASICS accepts returns within 90 calendar days, but the shoes must be unworn, unwashed and unaltered in original packaging. That is a generous try-on window and a zero-length run-in window. Brooks lets you run for 90 days; HOKA for 30.

The size run is the longest here: US men's 6 to 16 with half sizes through 13.5. If you are a size 6 or a 13.5, this is the only shoe in the group that lists you.

Owner fit data is not broken out in percentages on the ASICS page the way Brooks does it, so we have no true-to-size share to quote.

Features: the most specific midsole description in the group

Features score 4.5, the highest pillar and the highest features score in this cluster. The reason is what ASICS writes down.

The midsole is named twice over: FF BLAST PLUS cushioning for the foam and PureGEL technology for the gel element. ASICS also quantifies the generation change, saying the 28 is approximately 20 g lighter than the 27. No other brand in this group puts a number on its version-to-version change.

The page carries structured ratings: Cushion Maximum, Support Neutral, Goal Further. Together with the 8 mm heel drop and 281 g weight, a buyer can place the Nimbus against the Ghost 18 (10 mm, 289 g) and Clifton 11 (8 mm, 9.97 oz) without guessing.

What is missing is the same thing missing everywhere: stack height. ASICS does not print heel or forefoot height on the product page. The outsole compound is also not named in the text we read.

The engineered knit upper is the material differentiator. Knit tends to be described by brands as softer and more conforming than mesh; ASICS says it softly wraps your feet. We report the claim, not a test of it.

Value: you pay for documentation and a warranty

Value scores 3.7. At $170 the Nimbus 28 is $20 above the cheapest shoe here and 1 cent above the New Balance 1080v15.

What the extra money buys on paper: a named foam and gel system, a 20 g stated weight cut, a knit upper, and a one-year defect warranty that ASICS publishes in full. What it does not buy: width choice on the listing we read, or the right to return a shoe you have run in.

For a runner who already knows their size in ASICS, the unworn rule costs nothing and the warranty is a real backstop. For a first-time ASICS buyer unsure of fit, the Brooks policy is safer and the Brooks shoe is cheaper.

Our guides section will rank all four for new runners once the cluster is complete.

Support: a published warranty and a clear returns page

Support scores 4.4. ASICS is the only brand among the four whose pages gave us a defect warranty term to quote.

The Limited Warranty states that footwear will be free from manufacturing defects for one year from the date of delivery to the original consumer, and apparel and accessories for six months. If the shoe was bought from an authorized retailer and ASICS lacks delivery records, the clock starts seven days after purchase. Laces and insoles are excluded, and the warranty does not transfer to a second owner.

The returns page is equally specific: 90 calendar days, original condition, free in any US ASICS store, $4.99 deducted for non-member mail returns, free for members.

Customer service links on the page include contact, store locator, order tracking and a warranty form. Phone hours are not shown on the product page itself.

What verified owners report

The GEL-NIMBUS 28 page shows 4.4 out of 5 from 377 reviews as of October 16, 2026. That matches the Brooks Ghost 18's 4.4 and sits above the New Balance 1080v15's 4.2 on the same day. HOKA's rating for the Clifton 11 was not readable.

ASICS' page did not present a fit breakdown or a themed review summary in the text we loaded, so we cannot report true-to-size percentages or recurring complaints the way we could for Brooks. We also do not quote individual reviews from retailer sites or search snippets.

Treat the 4.4 as a sentiment indicator from a self-selected group on the brand's own site. It is consistent with the Nimbus' reputation; it is not a measurement of cushioning or durability.

Limits stated by ASICS, and gaps we could not close

ASICS writes more fine print than the other three brands, and some of it changes what the headline numbers mean.

The warranty excludes laces and insoles, does not transfer to a second owner, and only covers products bought from ASICS or an authorized retailer. If you buy a Nimbus 28 from a marketplace seller, ASICS reserves the right to reject the claim. The page lists Amazon authorized retailers separately for that reason.

The return policy's original condition rule is strict: unworn, unwashed, unaltered, original packaging. Trying the shoe on a carpet indoors is within the rule; a run around the block is not. Brooks and HOKA do not draw that line.

The product page states the weight without a reference size, and the 20 g reduction is approximate by ASICS' own wording. Stack height is absent from every block we read, including the Materials and Technology expander.

Width remains the open question. ASICS sells wide versions of several models as separate product codes, and the collection page we loaded showed a GEL-KAYANO 33 WIDE but no wide GEL-NIMBUS 28. We are reporting what the US store displayed on October 16, 2026, not ruling out a wide fitting elsewhere.

Alternatives

Choose the Brooks Ghost 18 if you need any width other than standard, want to run in the shoe before deciding, or want to spend $150 instead of $170. Otherwise choose the Nimbus 28 for the named foams, the knit upper and the warranty.

Choose the Hoka Clifton 11 if you want a rockered ride at the same 8 mm drop for $15 less, and a Wide or X-Wide option. Otherwise choose the Nimbus 28 for the far more specific spec sheet and the 90-day return window against HOKA's 30.

Choose the New Balance 1080v15 if you want a lower 6 mm drop, four widths including narrow, and a lighter published 261 g. Otherwise choose the Nimbus 28 for the warranty and the 90 days against New Balance's 45.

Head-to-head pieces live in our comparisons section.

ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28 on the Wrist & Sole rubric: four sub-scores and the overall grade, built from documentation and verified user reports, not first-hand testing.
ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28 on the Wrist & Sole rubric: four sub-scores and the overall grade, built from documentation and verified user reports, not first-hand testing.

Bottom line

The ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28 is the shoe to buy if you want the spec sheet to do the talking: named foams, a quantified weight cut, a knit upper, Maximum cushion and Neutral support ratings, and a one-year defect warranty in writing. It is also the most expensive shoe here and the only one we could find in a single width.

If your size and width are a known quantity in ASICS, the price premium buys real documentation. If they are not, the unworn-return rule means a wrong guess costs you $4.99 and a second order, and the Brooks Ghost 18 is the lower-risk way to find out. More on how we grade is on our about page.

Buy it if

  • You want maximum cushioning and you want the brand to tell you what the midsole is made of
  • A published defect warranty matters - ASICS gives one year on footwear, which Brooks and HOKA did not state on the pages we read
  • You prefer a knit upper to a mesh one
  • You wear a standard width and a half size between 6 and 13.5, or a whole size up to 16

Skip it if

  • You need a wide or narrow fitting - go to the Brooks Ghost 18 with 1B to 4E or the Hoka Clifton 11 with Wide and X-Wide
  • You want to run in the shoe before deciding - ASICS requires returns to be unworn
  • Price is the deciding factor - it is the most expensive of the four at list

Frequently asked

How much does the ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28 cost?

The men's GEL-NIMBUS 28 lists at $170 on asics.com as of October 16, 2026. OneASICS membership is free and adds free standard shipping on orders over $50 and free mail returns; non-members pay a $4.99 return shipping deduction.

What is the drop and weight of the GEL-NIMBUS 28?

ASICS publishes an 8 mm heel drop and a weight of 281 g, or 9.9 oz, without stating the reference size. The page also says the 28 is approximately 20 g lighter than the previous version. Stack height is not published on the product page.

What cushioning does the GEL-NIMBUS 28 use?

ASICS says the midsole combines FF BLAST PLUS cushioning with PureGEL technology, and rates the shoe Maximum for cushion and Neutral for support. Those are the brand's own category labels, not measurements, and we did not run in the shoe.

Does the GEL-NIMBUS 28 come in wide widths?

The listing we loaded on October 16, 2026 shows Standard width only, in US men's sizes 6 to 16. ASICS usually sells wide fittings as separate listings, but none appeared on the GEL-NIMBUS collection page we read, so we cannot confirm availability.

What is the ASICS return and warranty policy?

Returns are accepted within 90 calendar days if the shoes are unworn, unwashed and in original packaging. In-store returns are free; mail returns deduct $4.99 unless you are a OneASICS member. Footwear carries a one-year limited warranty against manufacturing defects from the delivery date.

Is the GEL-NIMBUS 28 worth $170 over a $150 Brooks Ghost 18?

On paper you pay $20 for a named foam system, a knit upper, a stated one-year defect warranty and a lighter published weight (9.9 oz versus 10.2 oz). You give up three widths and the ability to run in the shoe before returning it. Which matters more depends on your foot.

Sources

Visit ASICS GEL-NIMBUS 28
We have no affiliate relationship with this vendor. Link goes to the official site.