Wrist& Sole
Two departments: what goes on the wrist, what goes on the feet
ComparisonLast checked October 17, 2026

Saphir Renovateur vs Jason Markk Essential Kit: two jobs

Short answer: these two products do not compete, and the mistake is buying one to do the other's job. The Jason Markk Essential Kit, $18.00 on jasonmarkk.com as of October 17, 2026, is a water-based cleaner with a stiff brush for sneaker leather, canvas and rubber. Saphir Médaille d'Or Renovateur, $30.95 for 75 ml at kirbyallison.com the same day, is a mink-oil and beeswax conditioner for smooth dress calf that its own retailers say protects nothing on its own. For the twelve shoes in our edit, eight of which are sneakers or running shoes, the Jason Markk kit is the one more owners will use, so it takes the nominal win on this page. For the three welted dress shoes and boots, Renovateur is the right jar and the kit is the wrong one. Everything below is read from the maker and retailer pages, policy pages and Trustpilot on October 17, 2026; nothing was applied to a shoe by us. The full Saphir Renovateur review and Jason Markk Essential Kit review carry the detail.

Saphir Médaille d'Or Renovateur logo3.8Saphir Médaille d'Or Renovateur
Jason Markk Essential Kit logo4.0Jason Markk Essential Kit
Winner

Specification by specification

SpecSaphir Médaille d'Or RenovateurJason Markk Essential Kit
JobCondition smooth leather, light cleanClean uppers and midsoles
List price (October 17, 2026)$30.95 (Kirby Allison)$18.00 (jasonmarkk.com)
Size75 ml jar4 fl oz (118 mL) bottle + brush
Named ingredientsMink oil, beeswax, lanolin (retailers)Water, potassium cocoate, propanediol, glycerin, glycosides, surfactants, fragrance (maker)
Leathers listedBox calf, goat, cordovan, smooth leatherLeather, suede, nubuck, canvas, cotton, knits
Excluded by the pageLarge bag panels; suede and oiled leather not addressedUnsealed or painted leather; dyed suede may bleed
Protects or shinesNo; follow-up cream requiredNo; cleaner only
Tool includedNone; cloth or brush neededStiff Durables brush
Stated frequency or yieldOnce a week maximumUp to 100 pairs (packaging)
Made inFrance (Kirby Allison listing)Not stated
WarrantyNone published120 days, defects (FAQ)
Returns30 days unused (Kirby Allison); 45 days (Shoe Care Shop)14 days, sealed, buyer pays postage, no exchanges
ShippingCarrier rate at checkoutFree over $49; otherwise at checkout
Public review feedNone product-level foundTrustpilot 1.9/5, 13 reviews, unclaimed
Rubric overall3.8 / 54.0 / 5

One is a conditioner and one is a cleaner; the pages say so

The two product pages describe different chemistry for different work. Renovateur's U.S. retailers, Kirby Allison and The Shoe Care Shop, name mink oil and beeswax, with Kirby Allison adding lanolin. Those are fats and waxes. Their job is to put oil back into smooth leather that has dried, and to prepare it for a pigmented cream.

The Jason Markk page prints a surfactant formula: water, potassium cocoate, propanediol, glycerin, two sugar-based glycosides, n-octylpolyoxyethylene and alkyl ethoxylates. Those are soaps and detergents. Their job is to lift dirt off a surface and rinse away.

So one adds oil and one removes grime. Using a degreasing cleaner as a conditioner dries leather; using an oil cream as a cleaner smears dirt into it. Neither page claims to do the other's job, which is the clearest signal that the buyer should not expect it.

The Shoe Care Shop states the Renovateur limit outright: it does not offer any protection and always needs a follow-up product. The Jason Markk page sells its Leather Balm and Repel spray as separate items with their own exclusions. Both brands, in other words, agree that cleaning and conditioning are two purchases.

Saphir Médaille d'Or Renovateur and Jason Markk Essential Kit side by side on the Wrist & Sole rubric. Scores come from documentation and verified user reports.
Saphir Médaille d'Or Renovateur and Jason Markk Essential Kit side by side on the Wrist & Sole rubric. Scores come from documentation and verified user reports.

Materials: Jason Markk covers more uppers; Saphir covers the expensive ones

The Jason Markk solution is listed as safe on leather, suede, nubuck, canvas, cotton and knits, which covers every sneaker and running shoe we have reviewed. The exclusions are unsealed or painted leather and a bleed caution on dyed suede. The brush in the box is narrower: standard full-grain leather, rubber and plastic, per the page.

Renovateur's retailers list smooth leather: box calf, goat and cordovan by name. Suede, nubuck, patent and oil-tanned leather are not addressed at all. The one caution is about large bag panels, where mink oil may over-soften or darken.

Mapped onto our edit, read October 16 and 17, 2026, the split is clean. The Italian calf of the Grant Stone Cap Toe Oxford and the hand-finished full-grain of the Thursday Boot Captain are Renovateur leathers. The leather of the Nike Air Force 1 '07, the knit of the Allbirds Tree Runner and the mesh of the Brooks Ghost are Jason Markk materials.

Two shoes fall between. The adidas Samba OG mixes full-grain leather with suede overlays, so the kit's solution applies but its stiff brush does not. The Red Wing Iron Ranger is oil-tanned, which neither page lists; the maker's own oil is the category to look at, and we have not reviewed it.

Pricing: the kit is cheaper to buy and the cream is cheaper per shoe-year

List prices on October 17, 2026: $18.00 for the Essential Kit, $30.95 for the 75 ml Renovateur at Kirby Allison, $29.95 at The Shoe Care Shop. The kit is the cheaper box by $13.

The routine price is different. Renovateur is step one of two; Kirby Allison lists the Médaille d'Or Pommadier cream at $28.95 for 75 ml, so a buyer following the retailers' instructions spends about $60 at list. The Essential Kit is a complete cleaning routine for leather and canvas as sold, and about $18 more if the soft Delicates brush is added for knit or suede.

Per shoe-year the arithmetic flips, and it is our arithmetic from published figures. A welted calf oxford is bought to last a decade through at least one resole.

On that shoe, $60 of care spread across that life is small, and the once-a-week usage ceiling means a jar lasts. A cemented sneaker is retired when the sole wears, usually within a few years, so $18 to keep the upper clean until then is the right scale of spend. Our note on welted, Blake and cemented construction explains why the sole sets the horizon.

Shipping is a cost line for both. Jason Markk is free over $49, so a single kit pays carriage at a rate the page does not print. Kirby Allison charges carrier rates at checkout with no threshold; The Shoe Care Shop applies a $50 minimum order, which it attributes to tariffs.

Ease: four steps and a brush against three steps and a wait

The Jason Markk routine is printed in four steps on the page and five on the box: dry brush, apply solution to the bristles, dip the brush in water and shake, scrub in circles, wipe and air dry. The leather tutorial adds one capitalised instruction, wipe away excess to avoid uneven drying. No dilution ratio and no drying time are given.

The Renovateur routine is three steps: brush off dust, apply a small amount with a cloth in circles, wait, then buff. The wait is where the retailers differ: three minutes at Kirby Allison, at least ten minutes at The Shoe Care Shop. Then the Pommadier step follows.

The kit's edge is that it includes its tool. Renovateur needs a cloth or applicator brush and, for the finish, a horsehair brush, none of which is in the jar. Jason Markk's own FAQ admits one limit: the stiff brush is for durable materials, and delicate uppers call for the soft brush sold separately.

What this comparison covers, in order.
What this comparison covers, in order.

Support: Jason Markk has a warranty, Saphir's retailers have longer returns

Neither product is well covered, and they fail in different places.

Jason Markk publishes a 120-day warranty against manufacturing defects on its FAQ page, which is more than Saphir's retailers offer. Its returns are the tighter of the two: 14 days from delivery, new and sealed only, buyer pays return shipping, no exchanges. An opened kit cannot go back.

Kirby Allison allows 30 calendar days for unused items in original packaging, and does not say who pays domestic return postage. The Shoe Care Shop lists 45 days. Neither names a maker warranty, and we found no Saphir page in the United States that states the formula or names an official importer; The Shoe Care Shop prints Official retailer of Saphir Médaille d'Or, which is the retailer's phrase.

On Trustpilot, jasonmarkk.com shows an unclaimed profile with 13 reviews at 1.9 out of 5 as of October 17, 2026, mostly about subscription charges and shipping. That is too small a sample to read much into. Kirby Allison had no Trustpilot page the same day, and its product listing showed no reviews, so Renovateur has no public owner feed we can quote.

Jason Markk Essential Kit's public homepage, captured automatically on October 17, 2026. Not a logged-in account; the page may have changed since.
Jason Markk Essential Kit's public homepage, captured automatically on October 17, 2026. Not a logged-in account; the page may have changed since.

What the two pages leave out

Both listings have gaps a careful buyer should know before paying.

Renovateur's formula is a retailer statement, not a maker's declaration. When we read avel.com, the manufacturer's site, on October 17, 2026, it listed Avel's own 275 ml Rénovateur Crème and other brands but no Médaille d'Or Renovateur page and no composition. Saphir's European web shop lists the jar at 20.65 euros without ingredients.

Jason Markk does not state where the solution is made or who certified the biodegradable claim, and the up-to-100-pairs figure is a packaging line with no method behind it. The product page lists badges, EPA Safer Choice and USDA, without certificate numbers.

We grade on what is printed. Both products score well on ingredients and use, and both lose points on provenance and after-sale terms.

Shoe by shoe: the kit fits eight of our twelve, Renovateur two

We mapped each shoe reviewed on this site against the two product pages, using the upper material each maker lists. The count is our reading, made on October 17, 2026, and it is the reason the kit takes the win here.

Eight shoes sit inside the Jason Markk material list, though not all of them suit the stiff brush in the box. Two sit squarely inside Renovateur's list. Two fall outside both pages, and for those the honest answer is a different product.

How long each lasts: the bottle states a yield, the jar does not

Jason Markk prints a capacity on the packaging: up to 100 pairs from the 4 fl oz bottle. If that held, the solution would cost about 18 cents a pair, which is our division of the $18.00 list price and ignores the brush. The page does not say how that figure was reached, so treat it as a ceiling.

Neither Renovateur retailer publishes a number of applications for the 75 ml jar. What they publish instead is a usage limit, no more than once a week, which tells you the jar is meant to be used sparingly on shoes that are already clean.

Refills change the long-run sum for the kit only. Jason Markk sells the solution on its own, so the brush is a one-time purchase. For Renovateur, a second jar at the Kirby Allison price is another $30.95.

Using one in place of the other is possible, but neither page recommends it

The kit can touch a dress shoe. Its safe list includes leather and excludes only unsealed or painted leather, so a sealed calf oxford is within range for a light clean. What it cannot do is replace the oils that a degreasing wash removes, which is the job the Renovateur retailers describe.

Renovateur can touch a leather sneaker. The retailer pages do not exclude smooth sneaker leather, but they list dress leathers by name, and one carries a caution, written about large bag panels, that mink oil may over-soften or darken leather. On a white leather Air Force 1 that is a risk worth avoiding.

On knit, mesh, canvas and suede, Renovateur is simply not listed, and nothing on either retailer page suggests trying it. Those uppers belong to the kit, with the soft brush.

The practical rule is to let the upper decide, then read the exclusions line on the page before the first application, on an inconspicuous spot. That instruction appears on neither page in those words; it is ordinary care practice and our advice, not the makers'.

Choose Renovateur if, choose the Essential Kit if

The decision follows the shoe, not the brand.

Bottom line

Saphir Médaille d'Or Renovateur and the Jason Markk Essential Kit are the two ends of a shoe-care shelf, not two answers to one question. The kit cleans sneakers for $18 and includes the brush; the cream conditions dress leather for $30.95 and needs a second $28.95 product to finish.

For the edit as a whole the kit wins on reach, because most of the shoes we have read are sneakers. For the three welted shoes it does not apply, and Renovateur does.

Buy by upper material, read the exclusions on each page, and expect to own both if your closet holds both kinds of shoe. The resoleable boots and dress shoes guide and the everyday sneakers guide sort the shoes into the two piles. Figures were read on October 17, 2026.

Frequently asked

Can I use Jason Markk cleaner on dress shoes?

The page lists leather among safe materials, excluding unsealed or painted leather, so a sealed calf upper is within range. It cleans only; it does not replace the oils a conditioner adds. For welted calf the retailers' Renovateur-then-cream routine is the documented path, as of October 17, 2026.

Can I use Saphir Renovateur on sneakers?

On a smooth leather sneaker panel, the retailer pages do not exclude it, but they list dress leathers and warn that mink oil may darken lighter finishes. On canvas, knit, mesh or suede it is not listed at all. For sneakers the $18 water-based kit is the better-documented choice.

Which is cheaper, Saphir Renovateur or the Jason Markk Essential Kit?

The kit, at $18.00 against $30.95 for Renovateur on October 17, 2026. The full Saphir routine adds a $28.95 Pommadier cream, about $60 at list. Per year of shoe life the cream is cheap on a decade-long welted shoe; the kit is the right scale for a cemented sneaker.

Do I need both products?

If you own both a welted dress shoe and leather or canvas sneakers, yes, because neither page claims to do the other's job. The kit cleans; Renovateur conditions and needs a cream after it. An owner of only sneakers needs only the kit, plus a soft brush for knit or suede.

Which has the better return policy?

Saphir's retailers: Kirby Allison allows 30 days unused and The Shoe Care Shop 45 days, as of October 17, 2026. Jason Markk allows 14 days from delivery for sealed items only, with the buyer paying return postage and no exchanges, though it adds a 120-day defect warranty.

Visit Saphir Médaille d'Or Renovateur
We have no affiliate relationship with this vendor. Link goes to the official site.

Visit Jason Markk Essential Kit
We have no affiliate relationship with this vendor. Link goes to the official site.