Wrist& Sole
Two departments: what goes on the wrist, what goes on the feet
Trail running shoesBy the Wrist & Sole editorsLast checked October 31, 2026
Altra Lone Peak 9 logo

Altra Lone Peak 9

The zero-drop trail and thru-hiking shoe: 0 mm drop, 25 mm stack, Altra EGO midsole, MaxTrac outsole, Regular and Wide in one size grid, $145

4.2/ 5 overall
Scored on the published rubric, from documentation, pricing and verified user reports.
From $145 list
Best for: Hikers, thru-hikers and trail runners who want a 0 mm drop and a wide toe box, with the largest owner sample in this section and 30 days to return the shoe after walking in it.
4.3ease
3.8features
4.3value
4.4support

Verdict

The Altra Lone Peak 9 is the only shoe in this section with a 0 mm heel-to-toe drop, and the only one in this section you may return after running in it. This is a documentation review: the figures come from the men's and women's product pages on altrarunning.com, the Altra warranty page and the 30-Day Trial Runs notice on the product page, all read on October 30, 2026. Nothing was worn or hiked by us. Altra publishes a 0 mm drop, a 25 mm stack, a Mid cushion rating, Neutral support, an Altra EGO midsole, a MaxTrac outsole, a 100 percent RPET ripstop mesh upper and separate weights of 11.15 oz (316 g) for men and 9.3 oz (263.65 g) for women. It is the heaviest men's figure of the four trail shoes here. The size run is the longest, US 7 to 16, and Regular and Wide sit in the same grid rather than on separate pages. The gaps are lug depth, which Altra does not print anywhere we could find, and the reference size for the weights.

Visit Altra Lone Peak 9
We have no affiliate relationship with this vendor. Link goes to the official site.

Where it is strong

  • 0 mm heel-to-toe drop, published, and Altra states plainly that every Altra shoe is 0 mm or 4 mm
  • Original FootShape fit, which Altra describes as its roomiest toe box with space through the midfoot
  • Regular and Wide sit in the same size grid on the same page, US 7 to 16 in men's
  • 30-Day Trial Runs: Altra invites the shoe to be run in and still returned, which neither the Saucony nor the Merrell policy allows
  • Largest owner sample of the four shoes here: 4.2 out of 5 from 184 men's ratings and 4.1 from 129 women's
  • One-year limited warranty on manufacturing defects, with published claim turnaround times

Where it falls short

  • Heaviest published men's weight of the four trail shoes here at 11.15 oz (316 g)
  • Altra does not publish a lug depth, so the outsole can only be compared by compound name
  • 25 mm of stack is the lowest in this section, 13 mm below the Merrell figure
  • The owner rating hides a split: 26 of 184 men's ratings are one or two stars
  • The 30-day trial applies only to customers based in the United States and Canada and is not transferable
  • No reference size is published for either the men's or the women's weight

At a glance

List price$145.00 men's and women's (altrarunning.com, Oct 30, 2026)
Pricing note$145.00 on altrarunning.com for the men's Lone Peak 9 and the women's, checked October 30, 2026; Altra lists GTX, Lone Peak 9+ and waterproof mid versions separately and we did not record their prices
Best for, statedTrail running, hiking, thru-hiking
Heel-to-toe drop0 mm
Stack height25 mm
Cushion ratingMid (Altra scale: Low, Mid, High)
SupportNeutral
FitOriginal FootShape, Altra's roomiest toe box
Weight, men's11.15 oz / 316 g (reference size not stated)
Weight, women's9.3 oz / 263.65 g (reference size not stated)
MidsoleAltra EGO
OutsoleMaxTrac (lug depth not published)
Upper100% RPET ripstop mesh with no-sew overlays
Sizes, men'sUS 7 to 13 in half sizes, then 14, 15 and 16
WidthsRegular and Wide, both in the same size grid
Returns30-Day Trial Runs, worn shoes accepted, US and Canada only
WarrantyOne year on manufacturing defects from date of purchase

What the Altra Lone Peak 9 actually is

The Lone Peak is Altra's long-running trail and hiking shoe, and the page states three uses rather than one: trail running, hiking and thru-hiking.

It is the only page of the four trail shoes in this section that names thru-hiking, which tells you where its buyers are.

The geometry is the point. Altra publishes a 0 mm heel-to-toe drop and a 25 mm stack, with a Mid cushion rating on its own three-step scale of Low, Mid and High.

That scale is defined on the page: Altra says the three cushioning levels are defined by stack height. So Mid at 25 mm is Altra's own middle, not the category's.

The parts are named. An Altra EGO midsole, a MaxTrac outsole, and a 100 percent RPET ripstop mesh upper with no-sew overlays. Support is listed as Neutral.

This is a documentation review. We read the men's and women's pages and the Altra warranty page on October 30, 2026, and nothing was worn or hiked by us.

If the drop and stack rows are unfamiliar, our primer on reading a running shoe spec sheet sets out what each one changes.

Who the Lone Peak 9 is best for

Read against the road trainers in our daily trainers guide, this is the buyer the Lone Peak 9 fits:

Altra Lone Peak 9: where it is strong, from documentation and verified user reports.
Altra Lone Peak 9: where it is strong, from documentation and verified user reports.

How the pricing works, and the versions beside it

On October 30, 2026 altrarunning.com lists the men's Lone Peak 9 at $145.00 and the women's at $145.00, with no strike-through and no discount badge.

That ties the Lone Peak 9 with the Topo Terraventure 5 as the cheapest of the four trail shoes we read on the same day, $5.00 below the Saucony Peregrine 16 and $15.00 below the Merrell Agility Peak 6.

Altra lists several siblings from the same page: Lone Peak 9 GTX, Lone Peak 9+, Lone Peak 9+ GTX and Lone Peak 9 Waterproof Mid and Low. We did not record their prices and will not estimate them.

Shipping and returns are free, with delivery quoted at five to seven business days and no weekend delivery.

The page also carries an HSA and FSA eligibility badge. That is a payment route rather than a discount, and whether a given purchase qualifies is a question for the plan administrator rather than for us.

Altra Lone Peak 9: where it falls short, from documentation and verified user reports.
Altra Lone Peak 9: where it falls short, from documentation and verified user reports.

Ease: the longest size run here, and two widths on one page

Ease scores 4.3, the highest in this section, on size coverage.

Men's sizes run US 7 to 13 in half sizes, then whole sizes 14, 15 and 16. Width is a second selector on the same page with two entries, Regular and Wide.

That is the structure buyers want and the one most brands do not offer. Both the Saucony and the Merrell pages push a wide foot to a separate style number instead. Our note on width letters and returns explains why that split exists.

Fit is the other half of ease, and Altra's own review widget gives two readings.

The size meter sits at 3 on a 1-to-5 scale, labelled Feels true to size. The width meter sits at 2 on a 1-to-3 scale, also labelled Feels true to size.

Both are midpoints, which is the best possible result on those scales. It is weaker evidence than a percentage, and we report it as the brand presents it.

One caution on the fit language. Altra insists a FootShape shoe is not a wide shoe but a shoe with toe room and a secure midfoot. A buyer who needs volume through the arch is not the target.

Features: named parts, with one number missing

Features score 3.8, the lowest pillar here, and the reason is a single absent row.

What Altra states: 0 mm drop, 25 mm stack, Mid cushion, Neutral support, Original FootShape, Altra EGO midsole, MaxTrac outsole, and a 100 percent RPET ripstop mesh upper with no-sew overlays.

What changed in this version, per Altra: the recycled ripstop upper for high-mileage durability, an improved MaxTrac outsole for grip and durability, and an updated Altra EGO foam.

What Altra does not state anywhere we could read: the lug depth. We searched the rendered page for a lug figure on October 30, 2026 and found none.

That matters on a trail shoe. Lug depth is the one number that separates a soft-ground outsole from a hard-pack one, and without it MaxTrac can only be compared on name.

There is also no rock plate claim on this page, where both the Merrell and the Topo pages state one. We take the absence as an absence rather than as a denial.

Altra also does not say which size either published weight refers to, so 11.15 oz is a brand figure rather than a measurement of your pair.

Value: the cheapest entry to a zero-drop platform

Value scores 4.3. At $145.00 this is the joint cheapest shoe in this section, with the longest size run and the only worn-return policy.

What you give up for the price is cushioning and weight. The 25 mm stack is 13 mm below the Merrell figure and 7 mm below the Saucony heel, and the men's weight is the heaviest of the four.

That combination is unusual and worth saying plainly. The Lone Peak 9 is simultaneously the least cushioned and the heaviest shoe here on published figures.

The explanation is probably the upper and the outsole rather than the midsole, but Altra does not break weight down by component and we are not going to guess.

Support: a worn trial, and a warranty with a timetable

Support scores 4.4, the highest pillar, because Altra publishes both a trial and a claims timetable.

The product page carries a 30-Day Trial Runs notice. Altra says that if you are not completely satisfied you may return the shoes, and the whole point of the policy is that they may have been run in.

The limits are printed with it. The policy is available only to customers based in the United States and Canada, is not transferable, may require proof of purchase and related information, and Altra may reject claims where it suspects fraud or abuse.

The warranty page is separate and more specific. Altra provides a one-year limited warranty on manufacturing defects from the date of purchase, for shoes bought from altrarunning.com or an authorised Altra retailer.

It does not cover defects due to improper use. Altra says customer service acknowledges a claim within five business days, allows five to seven business days for a determination, and seven to ten business days after that.

Approved claims are paid as an electronic gift card for altrarunning.com rather than as a refund. That is a real condition and worth knowing before filing.

Our note on when to replace running shoes covers the line between a worn outsole and a defect, which is where claims like these usually turn.

What owners report on Altra's own page

The Lone Peak 9 has the largest owner sample of the four trail shoes in this section.

On October 30, 2026 the men's page showed 4.2 out of 5 from 184 ratings. The breakdown Altra displays is 121 five-star, 23 four-star, 14 three-star, 13 two-star and 13 one-star.

The women's page showed 4.1 out of 5 from 129 ratings.

The split is the interesting part. Twenty-six of 184 men's ratings, about 14 percent by our arithmetic, are one or two stars. That is a higher share of low ratings than the headline 4.2 suggests.

Altra's displayed aggregates are the figures we report and we did not recalculate them. We have no way to check how many ratings came with an incentive, because the page does not say.

The two fit meters described above are the only structured fit data on the page, and both sit at the true-to-size midpoint.

Limits stated by Altra, and gaps we could not close

The trial is geographically limited to the United States and Canada, and Altra reserves the right to refuse it.

The warranty excludes improper use and pays in store credit rather than cash. It applies only to purchases from Altra or an authorised retailer.

Gaps we could not close: the lug depth, the reference size for either weight, any rock plate claim, and the prices of the GTX and Lone Peak 9+ versions.

We will not fill the lug figure from a review site, because a measured lug and a published lug are different claims and only one of them is the brand's.

Our pages were read from Vietnam against the US store, in USD, with US returns and warranty text. Prices and policies quoted here are for US orders.

Alternatives

Choose the Brooks Ghost 18 if your running is mostly on road and a 10 mm drop is what your legs already know: $150.00, four widths on one page, 90 days to return after running.

Choose the New Balance 1080v15 if you want a low road drop without going to zero. It publishes 6 mm and 261 g, which is 55 g lighter than the Lone Peak 9.

Choose the Hoka Clifton 11 if you want a rockered sole rather than a flat one, at a published 8 mm drop and 9.97 oz.

Choose the Brooks Adrenaline GTS 25 if you want structured support instead of Neutral, with four widths and the largest fit-vote sample on any page we have read.

For a boot rather than a shoe on the same kind of ground, the Blundstone 550 is in our resoleable boots guide, and it answers a different question: longevity rather than pace.

If you log hikes as well as runs, the Garmin Forerunner 265 is the better documented unit in our watch section for elevation.

Altra Lone Peak 9 on the Wrist & Sole rubric: four sub-scores and the overall grade, built from documentation and verified user reports, not first-hand testing.
Altra Lone Peak 9 on the Wrist & Sole rubric: four sub-scores and the overall grade, built from documentation and verified user reports, not first-hand testing.

Bottom line

The Lone Peak 9 is the zero-drop option in this section and the only one you may run in and still return.

It wins on size coverage, on width handling and on owner sample size, and it is the joint cheapest of the four at $145.00.

It loses on two published numbers: the lowest stack at 25 mm and the heaviest men's weight at 11.15 oz. It also leaves out the lug depth entirely, which is a strange omission on a trail shoe.

If zero drop and toe room are what you came for, this is the page to read. If you want numbers for grip, the Saucony and Merrell pages give more of them.

Buy it if

  • You want a 0 mm drop and have decided that on purpose rather than by accident
  • Your toes need room: Original FootShape is the widest forefoot Altra publishes
  • You wear a men's 15 or 16, which only this page in this section covers
  • You want to walk or run in the shoe and still be able to send it back inside 30 days

Skip it if

  • You are coming straight from a 10 mm road trainer and have not transitioned to a low drop
  • You want deep, published lugs: Altra prints no lug figure at all
  • You want the most cushioning: 25 mm is the lowest stack of the four shoes here
  • You are outside the United States and Canada, where the 30-day trial does not apply

Frequently asked

How much is the Altra Lone Peak 9?

On October 30, 2026 altrarunning.com lists the men's and the women's Lone Peak 9 at $145.00, with no discount shown. Altra also lists GTX, Lone Peak 9+ and waterproof mid versions on separate pages, whose prices we did not record.

What does zero drop mean on the Lone Peak 9?

It means the heel and the forefoot sit at the same height off the ground. Altra publishes a 0 mm drop and a 25 mm stack, and states that every Altra shoe is either 0 mm or 4 mm. The page calls this a Zero-to-Low Drop platform.

Is the Lone Peak 9 a wide shoe?

Altra says no, and the distinction is useful. The page states that a FootShape fit is not a wide shoe but a shoe with room for the toes that still holds the midfoot. Separately, Regular and Wide widths are both sold from the same size grid.

How much does the Lone Peak 9 weigh?

Altra publishes 11.15 oz (316 g) for the men's shoe and 9.3 oz (263.65 g) for the women's, as of October 2026. No reference size is given. The men's figure is the heaviest among the four trail shoes we read on the same day.

What outsole does the Lone Peak 9 use?

MaxTrac, which Altra describes as improved for grip and durability in this version. Altra does not publish a lug depth or a rubber hardness anywhere on the page, so the outsole cannot be compared on numbers against a Vibram Megagrip sole.

Can I return Altra shoes after running in them?

Yes, within limits. Altra's 30-Day Trial Runs notice says shoes may be run in and still returned within 30 days. It applies to United States and Canada customers only, is not transferable, may require proof of purchase, and Altra can reject suspected abuse.

What warranty does Altra give?

The Altra warranty page states a one-year limited warranty on manufacturing defects from the date of purchase, for shoes bought from altrarunning.com or an authorised Altra retailer. Approved claims are paid as an electronic gift card for the Altra site.

Is the Lone Peak 9 good for thru-hiking?

Altra lists thru-hiking as one of three stated uses, alongside trail running and hiking, and it is the only page of the four in this section that names thru-hiking at all. Fit and load tolerance are personal, and we have not hiked in the shoe.

Sources

Visit Altra Lone Peak 9
We have no affiliate relationship with this vendor. Link goes to the official site.